April Fool’s comes true: part I

This year for my April Fool’s joke, I chose something that had some credibility to it. The more believable, the better the joke.

I posted on my Facebook profile that Donovan McNabb would be traded to the Redskins for a 3rd round pick this year and a conditional pick next year.

Three days later, what do you know…I turned out to be completely right (almost)!

McNabb was traded to the Redskins, but for a 2nd round pick this year (37th overall) and a conditional pick next year. Hmm…maybe I should beĀ  a GM in the NFL.

As an impartial observer in this matter, here is the deal: the Redskins actually made a very good off-season move. The Eagles organization and their fans will be sorry. Last time I checked, it wasn’t just McNabb who lost those NFC title games.

I don’t understand why teams and fans get fed up with players who can’t win a Super Bowl every year, despite frequent trips to the playoffs. Every team has a 3.125% of winning the Super Bowl before each season (IT’S NOT EASY!). Marshall Faulk said it best when speaking on the Eagles inability to win the Super Bowl despite five NFC title game appearances during the McNabb era. He said words to the effect of : “Yeah, the Bills lost four straight Super Bowls. But show me any team who gets to the Super Bowl four years in a row, win or lose.” The point being McNabb wasn’t the problem.

Part 2 next.

Thanks for reading.

-Mike

Leave a comment

Filed under 2010 Off-season

Leave a Reply

